Chickpea Blondies – My First Video Recipe.

This weekend I really wanted to do a special recipe, and try and record my first video recipe ever. Through this experience I realised that this whole social media world can bring along many benefits for us in our personal lives.

The reason I’m saying this is because when I found the recipe I wanted to prepare, cooked it, recorded and edited the video, published a post with my final result, and got in contact with the recipe’s author (@tastyride), I felt such a welcoming and warm reaction from her. She was so happy that I had enjoyed and decided to share her recipe, and I was very excited not only to have prepared a delicious recipe that a girl my age had created and shared through this “community”, but also glad to be spreading her creativity and learning from people just like me.

FullSizeRender 6

This motivated me to write this post, not only as a way of sharing her delicious creation, and my first video recipe ever, but also as a reflexion of the importance of using social media as a tool to impact others in a positive way. Throughout the past months, I’ve realised that sharing my recipes, opinion, knowledge and food through the internet should not become a way of getting followers and, as a result, feeding our ego. This new way of communicating with people all over the world, and of getting to “know” them, should have a positive impact in ourselves, in them, and in the community that has been created.

I know that I just exchanged a few words with this girl after I decided to publish a video featuring her recipe, but her reaction transmitted such positive vibes, that they made me reflect on this matter for days. Last week, an account that I’ve been following on Instagram (@cookielovehealthy) for years now, managed by another girl who happens to be from my city and is about my age, and who has reached about 30,000 followers, decided to start a movement called #EMBRACEYOURSELFSUNDAYS. She was inspired by the Netflix documentary film Embrace, a movie that promotes positive body image in women all over the world. Her initiative is a way of inviting her followers and the community that has formed through social media, to respect, love, encourage, feel proud and embrace ourselves the way we are. Ideas like these are the ones we all should be having, in order to positively impact our community as well as feed an internal feeling of self love and pride.

This post is my way of showing how proud I am of myself, of what I’ve accomplished, and of the positive impact that the creation of this account has brought to my life. All of which I became aware through the link I had with another Instagram account. So no more wandering or reflexing, I’ll give you the recipe that started this whole conversation with myself.

IMG_6005TASTY CHICKPEA BLONDIES by Tasty Ride (@tastyride)

  • 1 can chickpeas (15 oz)
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/3 cup agave
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/3 cup vegan chocolate chips/chunks

Preheat oven to 180ºC. Mix the wet the ingredients in a food processor, and when an homogenous dough is formed, add the rest of the ingredients except the chocolate chunks. Lastly, incorporate the chocolate and mix with a spatula, pour mixture in a brownie baking tray, and bake for 20-25 minutes, until you see the blondies become golden.

Honestly, this blondies didn’t last the weekend, and I can’t say they were shared with many people. They’re incredibly tasty, the texture is amazing, and you’ll want to eat the whole batch in one seating.

Head over to my Instagram page (@grumbling.bellies) to watch the video recipe, and also check out the accounts I mentioned before, they’re my favorite fellow foodies 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

