Oatmeal Blueberry Vegan Cookies.

IMG_5489I have always been a sucker for brownies, but I LOVE a good Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Sandwich. As I’m currently working in an ice cream shop, I’ve been looking for ways to incorporate this dessert in our menu, but it has been really hard to find a supplier that offers chewy enough cookies, so that the sandwich doesn’t turn into an ice-creamy mess. I decided to look for recipes and try and make some experiments, to create a cookie that would satisfy my cravings.

Since I started cooking healthy desserts, I was never able to create a cookie that I really like. All of them had a weird, tasteless or dull flavor that wouldn’t convince me. I searched through different vegan blogs, and combined some of them with previous recipes I had prepared, hoping for these cookies to be the ones I had been looking for, and the result absolutely delicious.

These cookies have a strong oatmeal flavor, and can match perfectly with nuts, blueberries, chocolate chips, or any topping you prefer. I haven’t been able to get vegan chocolate chips, so this recipe was done with frozen blueberries.

Recipe:

IMG_5476

Dry ingredients:

  • 1 and 1/2 cups oat flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt

Wet ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (you can sub for coconut sugar, stevia, or sweetener of choice)
  • 1/4 cup agave (maple syrup or honey for non-vegan)
  • 2 flaxeggs (2 tablespoons ground flaxseed + 6 tablespoons water, whisked and set for 15 min)

Extras:

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 270┬║C. Mix dry ingredients separate from wet, and when these are blended, incorporate dry ingredients until thoroughly combined. When you have a compact dough, fold in blueberries and nuts. Cover and let sit dough for at least 10 minutes before scooping into flat, round cookies.
img_5486.jpg

Bake for 10-15 minutes, and as soon as they turn golden, remove from oven and lift each cookie with a spatula to prevent them from sticking to the tray. Let cool, and enjoy with a cup of coffee or tea.

I loved this cookies, and they are a great option for breakfast or as a snack, because they are so filling and decadent. I haven’t tested my Ice Cream Sandwich, because I first need to master my Vegan Ice Cream recipe. When I do, be sure I’ll share it with you.

 

Write to you later, readers! Lots of love ­čÖé

 

Leave a Reply

