22 Day Revolution – Week 1.

As I promised, this is the “report” of my first week doing the challenge. I ┬áhave to admit that during the weekend I wasn’t following the challenge’s exact menu plan, but I did keep on eating completely plan based, and tried to adapt my meals for them to be as similar to the original as I could. To be honest, there were some recipes that I really loved and enjoyed, but there were others that I would not repeat.

Tuesday, Day 1.

IMG_5282

  • Breakfast: oats cooked in soy milk and cinnamon, frozen blueberries and banana
  • Lunch: quinoa, lentils, grated carrot and spinach (topped with sugar free ketchup)
  • Snack: apple and peanut butter
  • Dinner: walnut tacos

I felt really good during my first day; breakfast was very similar to my usual creations, lunch was a perfect combination, and I had to have an afternoon snack because I usually get really hungry. Dinner, I have to say, was a DISASTER. The walnut “meat” had a very weird flavour, which I think came from the walnuts (it tasted really dry and stingy). I topped it with some beetroot hummus trying to make it better, but it didn’t work, so I only ate the vegetables and ate a black bean patty that I had in the fridge instead.

Wednesday, Day 2.

IMG_5283

  • Breakfast:apple, banana, spinach and kale smoothie (I topped it with my homemade granola to add some crunch)
  • Lunch: baked sweet potato with beans (I used canned baked beans because I couldn’t find black ones), avocado and cherry tomatoes
  • Snack: strawberries
  • Dinner: artichoke salad

Day 2 was a success (sorry I didn’t snap a pic of snack and dinner). These loaded sweet potato has been my favourite recipe so far. As a tip, I recommend wrapping the potato with foil and baking it for at least two hours on low heat; this prevents it from loosing its flavours and helps it stay moist and amazingly soft.

Thursday, Day 3.

IMG_5284

  • Breakfast: chia pudding with fruits, nuts and seeds
  • Lunch: lentils, jasmine rice, broccoli and cooked veggies
  • Snack: strawberries and pomegranate seeds with hemp seeds and almond butter
  • Dinner: vegan whole grain toast with almond butter

This was the first time I “messed up” in the challenge, because for dinner I couldn’t cook (hadn’t prepped anything and had to pick my brother at the airport), so I just ate something easy and which I was craving at the moment.
*Lesson learned: always have dinner prepped, otherwise you’ll end up eating the first thing you have at hand.

Friday, Day 4.

IMG_5340

  • Breakfast: chia pudding topped with apple, banana, hemp seeds and almonds
  • Lunch: baked sweet potato with canned baked beans, cherry tomatoes and sweet plantains
  • Snack: strawberries, pomegranate seeds, hemp seeds and almond butter
  • Dinner: toast, almond butter and banana

The original menu for lunch was pizza, but since I come home from work for lunch, I don’t really have that much time, so I decided to have leftovers from Wednesday’s lunch. Friday is when the mess starts, it’s hard to have something for dinner when going out, and at parties people serve snacks and yummy things, so yes, I caved and had some chips at a party. I didn’t really feel bad, life’s a balance in which we sometimes make the best choices regarding our health, but others we make the best choice for our own satisfaction. The message here would be that if you can enjoy yourself in moderation, there is no reason to feel guilty about giving in to your cravings once in a while.

Saturday, Day 5.

IMG_5341

  • Breakfast: sweet potato oats, banana, pomegranate seeds, blueberries, hemp seeds, almond butter and a dark chocolate square
  • Lunch: sancocho with chickpeas (sancocho is a Colombian traditional broth with meat and chicken (which I replaced for chickpeas), potato, yuca and green plantain)
  • Snack: strawberries
  • Dinner: apple and cashews

We always have family lunch on Saturday, and since my brother is home visiting, we did a traditional dish specially for him. I didn’t want to be a bother, so I cooked some chickpeas with onions and tomatoes, and added them to my soup instead of meat, with yuca and green plantain. It was a very busy day, in which I was sharing with my family, so I couldn’t cook for myself but I really didn’t mind because these moments are the ones in which we should enjoy ourselves the most.

Sunday, Day 6.

IMG_5343

  • Breakfast: hemp protein pancakes with banana, blueberries and nuts
  • Lunch: BBQ tofu, salad and sweet potato chips
  • Snack: strawberries and pomegranate seeds
  • Dinner: toast, almond butter and banana

My dad loves having BBQs at home, and my whole family (including my new born niece) came for lunch. I asked him to cook my tofu on the BBQ too, so I didn’t feel left out or different than everybody else. Honestly I didn’t enjoy it that much, because I didn’t season the tofu enough, but it was a nice lunch with the family, which is what’s really important.

 

Monday, Day 7.

IMG_5359

  • Breakfast: toasts with almond and peanut butter, cooked banana and blueberry “syrup”
  • Lunch: chickpeas, jasmine rice, kale chips and baked brussels sprouts
  • Snack: apple
  • Dinner: mushroom, carrot, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, lettuce, basil, cashews and avocado salad (I didn’t eat the avocado, not a fan)

As you can perceive, during the week before, I didn’t strictly follow the meal plan as I should have, so on Monday I decided to re-focus and really commit to it, even though I didn’t feel bad because I actually did stick to the challenge in my own way, and made the progress I wanted to.

Conclusions to my first week:

– Whenever you mess up, don’t feel guilty, just make sure you quickly get back on track
– Be sure to enjoy your time with friends and family, without feeling left out or uncomfortable, just adapt to the situations
– Humans are creatures of habits, I used to feel it was impossible to just have a smoothie and not have a snack 2 hours later, but it’s not. Just let your body adjust and you’ll feel the benefits later
– I accomplished my goal of not needing dessert after lunch or dinner, and have learned some tasty and healthy recipes that otherwise I would have never tried

I hope my experience has been helpful to you, and if you wish to have any recipe from this post let me know! I’ll be back soon wit my week 2 report!

Love to all!

 

Leave a Reply

