Coconut Matcha Mousse Pie.

I have to say that discovering Matcha Tea was a relief for me, because I know all the healthy properties that tea in general has, but I have never liked it and drinking a cup was always a sacrifice for me, especially green tea. Matcha is not bitter at all, and you can use it in a variety of recipes and still get all of its benefits without ruining the flavor. It is not very common in Colombia, so it can be a little expensive, but if you buy a 50 gram pack it will be enough to prepare as many recipes an tea cups as you like for at least 6 months.

I have a friend who, since we were in High School, stopped eating any kind of sugar or dessert, and she takes care of her diet very meticulously. She recently had her birthday, and another friend gave her a Matcha Mousse pie, because it only had healthy ingredients, no added sugar, and the perfect level of sweetness. Since the moment I tried this dessert, I wanted to replicate it because its texture and flavours were unlike anything I had ever tasted.

IMG_4778
My version of a Matcha Mousse Pie.

After lots of searching and asking, I finally found a recipe by Lands and Flavors. I did some tweeks, but my final result was absolutely BOMB! The texture was different from my friend’s birthday version, but it was even better (in my opinion). It’s not an easy recipe, and the result is a very delicate pie, but I asure you that it’s worth the effort, the money (because it’s ingredients are expensive) and the wait. Trust me, your tastebuds will be grateful, and everyone who tries it will be amazed by your creation.

Recipe:

For the crust:

  • 2 cups pitted dates (moist)
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup hazelnuts

(you can use the nuts you prefer)

For the mousse:

  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked in boiled water for at least 20 minutes, and drained
  • 1 and 3/4 (a 14 oz. can) coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup granulated Stevia (this is to my taste – for original recipe use 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons sugar)
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 4 teaspoons lemon juice
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1 and 3/4 cup almond milk (or non dairy milk of choice)
  • 1 teaspoon agar powder (or gelatine if non vegan)
  • 2 tablespoons matcha tea powder

First thing, place the cashews in the boiling water. Mean while, prepare the crust: blend the dates and nuts until a thick paste is formed. If it’s not thick enough, you can add some water until you are able to manipulate it with your hands. Place the crust evenly in the bottom of a springform pan. Set aside.

IMG_4757

For the mousse: combine the cashews, coconut milk, Stevia, coconut oil, lemon juice and salt in the blender, until you get a smooth batter. In a saucepan, combine the milk and agar powder, and bring to a boil while continuously mixing. When it comes to a boil, turn the heat to low and let simmer for 2 minutes, while you whisk. Pour this mixture in the blender along with the cashew mixture, and continue blending until well mixed. Finally, add the matcha powder and let it incorporate.

IMG_4758

Pour the green mixture over the crust in the springform pan, and let cool uncovered for about half an hour. After it has cooled, cover the pan and place it in the refrigerator over night (or for at least 6 hours).

IMG_4760Serve with toppings of your choice, or dust some extra matcha powder for decorating.

img_4980-2.jpg

I know it doesn’t look as good as it tastes, but I can tell you this is one of the best desserts I have ever prepared. Keep it covered in the fridge and, if you can help yourself from eating the whole pie, you can keep it for about one week and the flavours will still be delicious and fresh.

Leave a Reply

