Vegan Date Banana Bread.

When I was in my fourth semester at University, and got into the “fitness” world, I used to cook desserts at least twice a week. I usually did muffins, and they were pretty good, so I started looking for recipes that were easy to make, healthy and tasted similar to a regular muffin, and decided to sell them to people in my university.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 10.30.03 AM.png
These were the muffins I sold at Uni 😉

After testing, I decided to stick to two recipes: a banana oatmeal muffin and a gluten free carrot cake muffin. Both of them were very similar to a regular cake, and I sold about 15 of each per day, so I was earning some money too. My muffin “business” only lasted one semester, but people used to tell me that they missed my products, and that I did a very good job with healthy cooking, but cooking every day after class was exhausting, and carrying the muffins around was not something I wanted to do for the long run.

My best client was one of my best friends, and she also loves cooking. Once, after the business was already over, she shared a banana and date muffin recipe with me, and it was way better than the one I was previously using. After I decided to make the transition to a plant based diet, I adapted the recipe and substituted the eggs with flax eggs. The result was AMAZING.

This is the recipe you will learn to prepare with this post. I decided to do it as a bread loaf, but it works perfectly for muffins, too.

IMG_4622

Recipe:

  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 ripe mashed bananas
  • 2 flax eggs (2 tablespoons flaxseed soaked in water) or 2 eggs if nonvegan
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cup almond milk with 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar (use 1 cup of milk if non vegan)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup dates, previously soaked in warm water
  • Dark chocolate chips/chunks

IMG_4624

In a bowl, mix dry ingredients. Blend dates into a thick paste and add mashed bananas, flax eggs and coconut oil. Blend until smooth. Add dry mix, and when you get a thick consistency add milk mixture. Pour batter in a silicone bread tray, or in a previously greased regular bread tray, and top with chocolate chips/chunks. Bake in oven at 190ºC for 35-40 minutes. (if you’re preparing the non vegan recipe, it takes about 20-25 minutes)
**For extra sweetness add agave, or sweetener of choice.

IMG_4636

As you can see, it’s moist and the chocolate blends perfectly in the bread. My recommendation is to eat it while still warm, and keep it covered in the fridge. When you’re gonna eat it, you can warm it once again in a microwave, toaster or oven.

Enjoy this decadent recipe, which you can have as breakfast, snack or dessert! ❤

Leave a Reply

