Vegan Asian Noodles.

I have never been in Thailand, but I know that when I do, I’ll have Pad Thai for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day… okay not for breakfast because breakfast for me has to be sweet 😉

Pad Thai is a stir-fried rice noodle dish commonly served as street food in Thailand. The original recipe is “made with soaked dried rice noodles, stir-fried with eggs and chopped firm tofu, and flavored with tamarind pulp, fish sauce, dried shrimp, garlic or shallots, red chili pepper and palm sugar, and served with lime wedges and chopped roast peanuts.”

I first tried this dish in a restaurant in BogotĂĄ (the city where I live) called WOK, which is one of my favourite restaurants, and I think that it’s the best Pad Thai in the city. Sometimes I find myself craving this dish when I’m at home, but, as you can see, its preparation requires a broad list of Asian ingredients that one doesn’t normally keep in the pantry. Committed to recreating a Pad Thai version that was easy to prepare, with ingredients that I think almost anyone might have home, or can buy in any supermarket, I created my Vegan Asian Noodles.

Ingredients:

  • Rice Noodles (I used Best Choice’s Rice Stick)
  • Tofu
  • Spiralised zucchini
  • Spiralised carrots
  • Diced scallion

Sauce:

  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon agave
  • 1 teaspoon creamy natural peanut butter
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Ground ginger

In a bowl, mix the sauce ingredients. Cut the tofu in cubes, and leave it marinating in the sauce for at least 15 minutes. Meanwhile, boil some water in a pot, and when it starts boiling turn the heat off and place the rice noodles in it, stirring continuously to prevent them from sticking. Let cook for about 5 minutes, or until the noodles are soft but not completely cooked.

img_4648.jpg

In a pan, sauté the tofu blocks with some coconut oil until they are crispy and brown. In a separate one, cook the scallions with coconut oil spray, and when they are turning brown add the vegetable and rice noodles, and let cook in the pan with the marinade sauce, until they absorb it.

IMG_4649

Serve your Asian Noodles with the tofu, and if you wish, you can add chopped nuts of your choice (peanuts are perfect). I didn’t have any peanuts, so I used pistachio nuts, and the combination was spectacular.

This dish has the perfect combination between sweet, savoury and tangy, and is full of different textures. It is also full of nutrients from the vegetables, healthy fats and carbs, and is protein packed. I’m not sure if it could be called a Pad Thai, or if it could replace my favourite restaurant’s interpretation, but it sure is a delicious option with which you can impress your guests, and yourself, and which can be put together in just 20 minutes.

IMG_4656

Hope you’ll prepare it 🙂

Leave a Reply

