Bircher Müesli.

These recipe was actually a mix of different oatmeal bowls I had tried and prepared in the past. Sometimes I feel like 1/2 cup oatmeal is too much, but when I finish eating, it feels like its never enough. Does this happen to anyone else?

So, this recipe was the result of me trying to make 1/4 cup feel like 1 cup, adding ingredients that would leave me feeling full and satisfied for longer.

In my first semesters of Uni, I used to have a lot of free time during classes, and the usual thing for me and my friends to do was to go to a place nearby called Fratelli Espresso Bar. This is the perfect spot for having brunch, in a place that makes you feel like you do in those Sydney Espresso bars, or those New York brunch bars… Okay, back to the point… My usual order was Bircher Muesli, a porridge made with yogurt, grated apple, almonds and honey. It was the perfect option for brunch because it left me full until the afternoon, and it was so refreshing and tasty.

Thinking about ways to make my usual morning oatmeal fuel me up like this, I thought about combining other recipes, removing the yogurt, adding the apple, do my magic, and to see what happened. And this was the result:

For the recipe you will need:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 grated apple
  • Stevia and cinnamon to taste

The first step is the MOST important to increase the volume of your oats: Soak the rolled oats and the chia seeds in the water for at least half an hour. The way, they will absorb the liquid and become really fluffy and moist. When this step is done, cook the “fluffy oats” with the milk, stevia and cinnamon on low heat, and thoroughly mix. When the milk starts boiling, add the apple and let cook for a while.

Tadaaah! My version of a Bircher Muesli is ready for you to devour…. or almost ready. For me, there is no real breakfast without some toppings, so this is where you can get creative. I used peanut butter (do I ever not?), pistachio nuts and some cranberries, and for extra sweetness (I told you I have a sweet tooth), I added some agave nectar.

Bon Appétit!

Leave a Reply

